Michel-Henry of Méhérenc, Marquess de Saint-Pierre born on August 15th, 1660 in Saint Benoît of Paris, rearrange the castle.
They sheltered formerly the accommodations of the grooms, the stables, the saddlery and the bakery.
Located in the corner of the closed yard, symmetrically in a detached house of the same architectural type, which is usually the case in lordly properties.
It hold the statues of Saint Michel and Saint-Gouéno, a signed altar by Corlay, as well as a paionting of the Assumption larded by bayonet by the troops which occupied the castle during the Revolution.
This dovecote, in roof of slates and lanternon, is rebuilt in 1701 by the family of Méhérenc of Saint Peter.
The dovecote inside, the space granted to the pigeons, is divided into niches called “boulins”. Every “boulin” is can welcome a couple of pigeons.
Its peculiarity is its central staircase which allows to visit all the breeding grounds.
This cross, which also served as altar of repose, is composed of a pietà .Its base shows the coat of arms of Michel-Henri de Méhérenc of Saint-Peter and Thérèse Le Chaponnier. It is located next to the Church of Pléguien.
Back at the beginning of the 16th century, a period during which ” The Wood of the Room ” was ” Noble House”, which meant without fouage and when the family of the MAUGOUER lived inbecoming later on the family CHAPONNIER of KERGRIST. The castle would have burned in 1642 but would have been partially reconstructed. Renée-Thérèse LE CHAPONNIER married in 1701 Michel-Henry of MEHERENC, Marquis de SAINT pierre, born in Normandy, who was to serve as an officer, was led to Chatélaudren.
According to the book of reason, which he started writing in 1701, the dovecote was built in August, 1701.Iin 1702, the accommodations floor was elevated and a vegetable garden was designed. The pond began being dug on May 1st, 1705 and ended in August, 1706, there were 300 days of work. Outbuildings were built in 1718. The chapel and the saddlery construction started on August 1st, 1720 to end in July, 1723 as well as the walls of the yar) (from “Côtes-du-Nord, district of Saint-Brieuc” by Benjamin JOLIVET – Guingamp on 1854).A straigh avenue lined with a row of oaks, neither too long, nor too short, which has the peculiarity not to be placed in the axis of the property, what nevertheless was made usually at that time. This peculiarity allows to discover, at the last moment, the whole castle and its surrounding. When arriving, the light slope gives a global vision of buildings and its esplanade bounded well by the walls which surround it. The vision is completed all the more as the arrival is made facade the South, the buildings being thus in full light, of more the overhang reduces the fickl vision and so gives a better perception of the built volumes. Good architecture reflects without ambiguity its function and when it comes to a residential building, the social status of his occupants. For ” the Wood of the Room “, things are perfectly clear: it is about a ” Noble House ” the function of which is the enjoyment.
What seems almost unique in the ” Wood of the Room “, it is that this property built in 17th century, was always inhabited by the descent of his builder what confers him a very strong sentimental value, the building so becoming a kind ” of case to memory “.